Categories: From the Circumscriptions
      Date: Nov  1, 2015
     Title: Assembly of the Delegation of Kenya

The General Assembly of the Augustinian Delegation of Kenya has taken place from the 21st to 23rd October 2015. The Assembly commenced with the Holy Eucharist presided over by the Assistant General, Fr. Edward Daleng who represented the Prior General. In his homily, the Assistant General called on all the brothers of the Delegation to live according to the example and teaching of our Holy Father St. Augustine in the continuous search for God through communion for the service of the Church. Self- interest, ambition, cliques and ethnic grouping should be desisted from in order to support the new Delegate Superior and work together for the growth of the Order in Kenya.

At the opening session of the Assembly, the message of the Prior General was read to the hearing of all. In his message, the Prior General appealed to the brothers to rise up to the challenges of leadership and followership now that a Kenyan, Fr. Robert Karanja Ireri, is appointed the Delegate Superior. He thanked the Irish Augustinian Province for their generosity and missionary spirit in setting up an Augustinian presence in this part of Africa. Thus, he reiterated that brothers should live in greater unity in the community: TO LIVE FRATERNITY IN CHARITY. In addition, the Assistant General tasked brothers to promote interiority, reconciliation and accountability as essentials to living genuine community life.

The outgoing Delegate Superior Fr. David FitzGerald handed over the Seal of office as his mandate expired. Subsequently, the Seal was given to the new Delegate Superior Fr. Robert Karanja Ireri. In his speech, the new Delegate Superior thanked the Prior General and his Council for the trust placed on him as the Delegate Superior. He solicits the cooperation of all the brothers of the Delegation; he promises to serve with commitment and to foster unity among brothers for the growth of the Delegation. The Delegation Council, besides the Delegate Superior, is now composed of Councilors: Frs. Augustine Jumah and Joseph Oduor; secretary: Peter Emoit Imatari; and bursar: Julius Ambrose.